Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

patelrr
Regular Visitor

Change the date based on time stamp

Hello,

I need to add a custom column to my data on Power BI Desktop where the date is adjusted based on the time stamp of a different column.

For example:

I have a Date column that displays the following information: DD/MM/YYYY HH:MM:SS AMorPM (Example: 8/2/2019 2:54:14 AM)

Now I need to add a column that would adjust the date to the previous day's date if the time is between 12:00:00AM and 6:00:00AM. So for the above exmaple, I would want the new column to display the date as 8/1/2019. If the time is beween 6:00:01AM and 11:59:59PM, then it should display the same date. 

What would the formula look like for the above request in a custom column?

I'm brand new to Power BI and don't understand the syntaxes very well. All help is greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @mailo2000 ,

If I understand your question, you would like a new column that uses a day earlier if the hour is 6 am or less.

You would like to go from the first pic to the second?

Here is what you need to paste into the Adv Editor. in Power Query

Basically I created a new col with a date a day earlier, then extracted the hour, then wrote a conditional statement that said if the hour is less than or equal to 6, select the earlier day, if not select the time stamp day.

If you are a beginner let me highly recommend @KenPuls book M is for (Data) Monkey  and @MattAllington book Supercharge Power BI

If this solves your issues, please mark it as the solution, so that others can find it easily. Kudos are nice too.
Nathaniel

let