Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
jellek Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Cannot Connect to MySQL on Linux VM

Hi there,

I have a Virtual Machine running a LAMP server with a bridged connection to the host computer (Win10).

After installing Mmysql-connector-net-6.6.5.msi I still cannot connect to my database; utilities. 
I can access the database through phpMyAdmin, 192.168.0.13 on host computer.
If I check in phpMyAdmin, the port is 3306, I also tried Ubuntu which is listed as the Hostname in phpMyAdmin.

In Power BI i get the following error:
"Details: "MySQL: Unable to connect to any of the specified MySQL hosts.""

Why can I not connect to my Database? what am I doing wrong? Is this a firewall issue?

I'm still new to virtual machines and LAMP, so if you could point me in the right direction then that would be great.

Thanks in advance.
Jelle

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Moderator v-qiuyu-msft

Re: Cannot Connect to MySQL on Linux VM

Hi @jellek,

In your scenario, I would suggest you check if you can use MySQL workbench to the database successfully. Make sure that MySQL workbench is installed  on the same machine with Power BI Desktop. If the connection fails, please follow the instructions in this blog to troubleshoot this issue.

If you are able to connect to database using MySQL workbench, please use same connection parameters in Power BI Desktop, and also add port number with server name to connect to MySQL.

Also ensure that you install MySQL Connector/Net 6.6.5 for Microsoft Windows on your computer. Select the driver that matches your Power BI Desktop installation (32-bit or 64-bit).

Best Regards,
Qiuyun Yu

Community Support Team _ Qiuyun Yu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Moderator v-qiuyu-msft

Hi @jellek,