Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

J_J_England

CALCULATE between two times across multiple dates

Hello,

I am new to the world of Power Pivot / Power Query, Power BI, and data models - so please forgive me if my terminology isn't correct! 

I have a data model in Power Pivot which consists of two data sets. One called 'Combined' which lists a very large number of rows of transactions. Another called 'Tariffs' which lists a number of rows of (what I will refer to as) purchase periods. Each purchase period includes some text, date, time, and decimal number fields, but essentially these all amount to an ID number, start date, end date, start time, end time, start amount, end amount.

What I am trying to do, is create a DAX function which checks the data within the 'Combined' data set, against the adjacent fields within the 'Tariffs' data set, to count the number of rows where the ID matches, the purchase date falls between the start and end dates, the purchase time falls between the start and end times, and purchase amount falls between the start and end amounts.

Therefore, I created a calculated column within the 'Tariffs' data set and I am using CALCULATE to COUNTROWS of the 'Combined' data set using the adjacent cell values. Where text is concerned, I am using '=' and where a date, time, and decimal number is concerned, I am using '>=' and '<=' to create the range. Below is what I have:

=CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(Combined),FILTER(Combined,Combined[TerminalID]=Tariffs[TerminalID]

&&Combined[LocationName]=Tariffs[LocationName]

&&Combined[DayName]=Tariffs[DayName]

&&Combined[PurchaseStartDate]>=Tariffs[TariffStartDate]

&&Combined[PurchaseStartDate]<=Tariffs[TariffEndDate]

&&Combined[PurchaseAmount]>=Tariffs[TariffAmountStart]

&&Combined[PurchaseAmount]<=Tariffs[TariffAmountEnd]