Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

ThomasDay
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

Azure embedded preview

Hello fellow PowerBi'ers,

I am looking to provision a workspace using the Azure PowerBi Embedded preview.  It's free for a short period and it sounds great.

There's a git-hub sample of code which I can open in Visual Studio to provision the workspace.  I have an Azure subscription id, a Resource Group (EmbeddedDevelopers), and I have a Workspace collection.  So seems like I'm all set.

When I run the project and put in these three things...It says I can't use a null value.  It's caught up with the Client ID.  So, try to find support and the answer is to go to Azure and for $29 per month (smallest amount) they'll answer my question...or I can go to a forum, which is also behind the paywall.  So, long and short--I am unable to name a workspace and upload a .pbix file

I'm really just trying to provision and use for a short bit--and the preview trial has given me valid info...any ideas here?

Thanks,

Tom

10 REPLIES 10
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

I just went through this a couple days ago and got it to work. I followed the article here:

https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/articles/power-bi-embedded-get-started-sample/

I used the github sample project here:

https://github.com/Azure-Samples/power-bi-embedded-integrate-report-into-web-app

Did you import the PBIX file into the workspace using the command-line program? What step are you hung up on?

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...