Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Gregwoolley2387
Regular Visitor

Automatically generating flat data

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Power BI, so apologies if this is a stupid question.

I've been able to build dahboards to date for 'one-off data', however I would now like to create a dashboard which will update according to a fairly contuous data collection. So for example, I will be setting up a dashboard to reflect the current status of a Investment Fund (e.g. money disbursed, money received, performance of clients etc). I can do this for the data I have at this present moment. However, this data will need to be updated on a monthly basis.

Sources of data will be Google Forms and data from Salesforce.

So my main quandry is:

1.  whether I can automatically convert data downloaded from a Google form and Salesforce into a format / structure which is useable in Power BI (i.e. a flat data strcuture).
    1. (If possible I want to avoid manual data manipulations.)
  2. Does Power Query Editor have role here? (I've never used, and find it a little intimidating!) Or would this still require a manual intervention each month?
  3. Also, where would it best to 'store' the consolidated data? Traditionally I would have done this in Excel. Perhaps it would be better in a Google Form or can it be in Power BI itself?

Really appreciate any guidance any one can give here.

Best wishes, Greg 

3 REPLIES 3
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@Gregwoolley2387,

Firstly, is there any possiblity that you transfer the data from Google Forms to Google sheet? You can connect to Google sheet in Power BI Desktop following the guide in this similar thread. In the same Power BI Desktop file(PBIX file), you can import Salesforce data  using Salesforce object connector.