Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Application Insights unable to edit report

Good Morning,

I have been looking into this.  According to https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/application-insights/app-insights-export-power-bi, I should be able to  leverage the "Power BI adapter" and connect to Azure Application Insights.  I have been able to create the app and share it with another user.  However, I am unable to edit the report.  The breadcrumb has a lock next to it and when I hover over edit report, the tooltip gives a bit more description.  Would this be a tenant setting?  I am new to the environment and am starting the believe I do not have the correct level of access.  Breadcrumb.pngEditReport.png

I found this which leads me to believe that I may not have access on the Admin Portal for the tenant settings which I am not able to edit.

Thank You,

Rob

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@Anonymous,

When importing Application insights data via Get Data->Services entry in Power BI Service, it is not possible to edit the report, this behavior is by design. 

You can use Power BI Desktop instead to connect to Application insights, create required report and publish Power BI Desktop file to Power BI Service.

Regards,
Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@Anonymous,

When importing Application insights data via Get Data->Services entry in Power BI Service, it is not possible to edit the report, this behavior is by design.