Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ddbaker
Helper I
Helper I

Adding New Queries Takes Forever

Hi Everyone,

To begin, I'm fairly new to Power BI, and my background is in Finance not Data Science. I recognize that building good models requires proper training and technique, however, I have undertaken the task to build our a financial dashboard for the company I work for. Because of my lack of knowledge, I'm certain that I have used very inefficient techniques to load our financial data into one Power BI file, and quite frankly I just don't know any other way.

The model I created aggregates all of our monthly financial data (PnL, Balance Sheet, Budgets, Forecasts, etc.). We have uploaded around 200 queries into Power Query (and manipulated the queries to be in the format we need) and then appended around 150 of them into one big query that we use for our visuals. We link all of our queries to OneDrive, so they update whenever anyone in our organization makes a change. One major problem that we're having is anytime we want to add a new query (i.e. The financials for a new month), it takes anywhere from 30 mins to an hour, and most often results in our computers running out of memory. 

I'm certain there's a better way to organize our data, but I lack the training and experience to know of a different way. Do you guys organize your dataset outside of Power BI first and then import it? If so, what programs do you use? Any other tips for improving the performance of our model would be greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @ddbaker  - no, you can do the transformations in Power Query.

1. Do the combine operation as normal.
  2. You will have a large listing of data. That needs to be cleaned up.