Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ptmuldoon
Helper II
Helper II

Add query parameter as column

Can someone maybe help show/explain if it is possible to auto create a column with the parameter value that is part of json query?

I'm still new at this and have something like this as part of my source:

api_base_url = "https://xxx.mysite.net/XXX?year=2020&begmonth=1&eyear=2020&endmonth=11&datasetid=-3",

There is more to url, etc. But I would like to try and place that "-3" into a new column. Currently, I am running separate queries for each datasetid I need which gives me separate/multiple tables. I then add the column to each table and then do a merge.

But I'm hoping to auto add that column based on the parameter being passed in the url.

Thanks,

PT

4 REPLIES 4
ptmuldoon
Helper II
Helper II

Aplogies for taking so long to respond.

@ToddChitt   Yes, I believe you understood what I was trying to explain.  Currently I run separate URL queries each with a different datasetID number.   All the tables return the exact same with columns such as Account Number, Year, Month, Amt.   But the tables to not include a column for the datasetID number.

So currently, I am adding that DataSetID column manually and then adding the number to it., ie, -3, 1, 2, etc.  And then after that doing an Append to bring all the tables together into 1 table.   

I'm hoping to have the column automatically added when I run the query.   It sounds like I need to look in trying to create sometype of Custom function.  Any help on that would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

PT

@ptmuldoon Try this:

Get yourself a dataset with a single column, let's call it datasetid. It can be manually entered data at this point.

Now create a function in Power Query/M code that looks like this:

(DataSetID) =>

let