Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

melimob
Frequent Visitor

Add Totals Column and Total Row to Pivoted Query for dynamic headers

Hi

This is probably really easy but I'm new to G&T and can't figure how to do this all in the query before I load it.

Have a very simple table with columns as:

Year, Consultant, and months across (which are pivoted and have count values in)

I want to add a TOTALS sum column and row.

I managed to add a column summing rows but if the same months in the original query are not present, it errors or doesn't include.

I'm not sure how to sum columns across.

Obviously I can do this once it's loaded in the excel table but I also had isssues when the data set expanded.

Advice appreciated.

Many thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

It can, replace everything below your source with the code below in the advanced editor.

ColumnNames = List.Buffer(List.Intersect({Table.ColumnNames(Source), {"January","February","March","April","May","June","July","August","September","October","November","December"}})),
    ChangeTypes = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,List.Transform(ColumnNames, each { _, type number })),
    AddTotal = Table.AddColumn(ChangeTypes , "Totals", each List.Sum(Record.ToList(Record.SelectFields(_,ColumnNames))))
in
    AddTotal

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

I hope somebody responds with an easier solution, but I use M to handle it. As long as the columns to be summed have dates, then the code is flexilble enought to handle the Source. The process is as follows:

1) Create a list of columnames that you want to sum using the Table.ColumnNames and List.Select function.

2) Transform the list of columnnames to a type list that can be sent to ChangeTypes.