Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

429 Error SharePoint List Source

Hello

I'm relatively new to PBI and queries and trying to resolve an issue my org currently have with 429 errors on dataflows that are accessing multiple SharePoint lists as their source. The current set up is there is one dataflow with an entity for each of the 15 lists being accessed, that then feeds into secondary dataflows for data manipulation and formatting before being presented in reports.

Most of these lists currently have less than 1000 rows of data in them, with one containing 3500. On a regular basis we are receiving 429 errors for the list with 3500 rows on it. Unfortunately we are currently restricted to using SP lists as the primary datasource and was surprised we're hitting these issues on such a small volume of data. The dataflows are currently running four times a day with around 3 hours beteween each refresh.

To get around this I am currently looking into delaying the calls to the SP service to hopefully avoid the throttling issue. I've had a look at the various really helpful posts from Chris Webb for using the InvokeAfter function but am struggling to see how to integrate this with the SP table source. 

I've tried the below but it doesn't seem to have impacted the refresh times so I assume the delay is only being applied at the table level and not per row. I imagine I'm probably inserting it at the wrong step or need to add an index/custom column to reference? I'm also quite restricted due to org policies in what I can do and ideally need to come up with a solution that can be achieved from within the query. If anyone could offer any advice on how this can be done or an alternative to avoid these errors it would be greatly appreciated. 

let