Reply
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-04-2018
Accepted Solution

Wrong location in the app

i have some data which shows the location of a dealer .

In the desktop file its showing the proper locations but when i publish it the location for Alabama,Usa pops up in Norway.

 

Note: the location is displayed properly in the desktop version there is an error in the app version


Accepted Solutions
Established Member
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-14-2018

Re: Wrong location in the app

Thank you for reporting this.

We are investigating this with the team responsible for the map visual.

As a workaround, you can add the "country" as high level hierarchy, and in the view "expand to next level" to get the states:  

 

 map states.jpg

View solution in original post


All Replies
Established Member
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-14-2018

Re: Wrong location in the app

Hey @nvarma2

 

Can you please send Power BI Support mail (mpbisup@microsoft.com) with more details (device type, os version and app version) and side by side screen capture of the map in Power BI Desktop and Power BI App?

 

Thanks, Maya

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-04-2018

Re: Wrong location in the app

sent

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-07-2016

Re: Wrong location in the app

I have the same issue for my user. Alabama is showing up in Norway for the map visual.

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-04-2018

Re: Wrong location in the app

[ Edited ]

This shows intened USA state 'AL' in Norway in both the power-BI Desktop and On-Line. All other states show in USA.

Established Member
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-14-2018

Re: Wrong location in the app

Hey @PatMcN64

 

Can you please send Power BI Support mail (mpbisup@microsoft.com) with more details (device type, os version and app version) and side by side screen capture of the map in Power BI Desktop and Power BI App?

 

Thanks Maya

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-04-2018

Re: Wrong location in the app

[ Edited ]

Hi Maya,

Sent email with screenshots - online and Desktop versions.

Thank you.

Established Member
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-14-2018

Re: Wrong location in the app

Thank you for reporting this.

We are investigating this with the team responsible for the map visual.

As a workaround, you can add the "country" as high level hierarchy, and in the view "expand to next level" to get the states:  

 

 map states.jpg

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-04-2018

Re: Wrong location in the app

The work-around is functioning.

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-25-2018

Re: Wrong location in the app

I think HI is behaving the same way.