Reply
Regular Visitor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-04-2018

Why does everything need to be clicked TWICE on mobile app?

Hi,

 

I'm surprised I couldn't find anything on this at all - why is the app set up so that every interaction requires two clicks?

 

E.g. to click a button I need to first select the button (grey border appears), then click the button a second later (action triggered). Same for a date slider - I need to click into the area first (grey border appears), then I can move the slider.

 

Is there any way round this?

 

Thanks!

Community Support Team
Posts: 6,939
Registered: ‎08-14-2016

Re: Why does everything need to be clicked TWICE on mobile app?

HI @olik,

 

I can't reproduce your issue, can you please share more detail and explain your operate more clearly?

Which back button? Normally back feature button or bookmark, drillthrough back button?

Which device and version you test?

 

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Regular Visitor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-04-2018

Re: Why does everything need to be clicked TWICE on mobile app?

Thanks - what do you mean, I never mentioned a "back button"...

 

Very easy to reproduce though, just set up a bookmark button in your report and open it in the mobile app. Clicking the button the first time will only highlight the area, clicking again will trigger the action.

 

Same for a slicer: Clicking it once will only highlight the slicer area, and only then are you able to click again to actually select any tickbox.

Community Support Team
Posts: 6,939
Registered: ‎08-14-2016

Re: Why does everything need to be clicked TWICE on mobile app?

HI @olik,

 

>>Same for a slicer: Clicking it once will only highlight the slicer area, and only then are you able to click again to actually select any tickbox.

I think this setting is used to prevent incorrect click, If you not need this you can submit an idea to idea forum for add option to control turn on/off this feature.

 

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2018

Re: Why does everything need to be clicked TWICE on mobile app?

This is obviously a bug.  No app has ever made its users touch every button twice to protect from accidentally pressing a button.  Can you imagine if an app that didn't have the Microsoft name attached to it had this bug?  That app would be uninstalled and written off as a badly designed app.  This is something that needs to be fixed now.

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-06-2018

Re: Why does everything need to be clicked TWICE on mobile app?

Wow, thank you all so much for these tips 'cause I had the same problem and didn't know how to solve it. Now it's gonna be okay (hope so). Well, I'd like to advise you one really cool musical inatead called Falsettos Show. Hope you'll like it as much as I did!

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-15-2018

Re: Why does everything need to be clicked TWICE on mobile app?

User should be able to decide whether they want to double-click or single click, this option should be made available and if it is a bug it should be fixed.

Established Member
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-14-2018

Re: Why does everything need to be clicked TWICE on mobile app?

This is not a bug, but a design choice.

First tap selects the visual, and second tap interact with the visual internal element.

 

Based on the community feedback we are revisiting this design. if you wish to impact our decision, please add your vote to our user voice site: https://ideas.powerbi.com/forums/265200-power-bi-ideas/filters/hot?category_id=105939

 

Thanks Maya

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-27-2017

Re: Why does everything need to be clicked TWICE on mobile app?

Hi @olik,

 

Did you get any workaround for this?

 

I too have the same problem. I have a report that works great on a PC in a browser and it has lots of buttons that 

use bookmarks. Problem is the Board Members view the report's Published URL on an iPad and everything requires

two clicks. The first click selects the report part, i.e. A button then you have to click it again for the report to jump to the bookmarked page. Frustrating and not useable for most.

 

Any ideas or help appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Jon

Highlighted
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-19-2018

Re: Why does everything need to be clicked TWICE on mobile app?

Any update on this?