cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sync Slicers is buggy - still filters even after un-selecting

Sync Slicers is buggy in PowerBI Desktop (latest Oct 2018 release) - if you stop syncing, the slicer often still filters the pages it was applied to, even if you untick the boxes on the Sync Slicers properties - very frustrating. If you completely delete the synced slicer, it still applies (which is even worse)!

 

Further details at https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Problems-with-Slicers-after-using-option-quot-Sync-Slicers-... and https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Filter-remains-after-removing-Synced-Slicer-from-a-page-wit...

 

You can work around this (and prove its effect) by copying the visuals to another page tab where they will work (fortunately). This demonstrates the fact that there's still a hidden slicer on the page. This is a serious bug, wasting time and putting people off. Should be easy to test and fix at HQ though :-) 

 

Phil

 

Status: Accepted
Comments
Moderator

@TickboxPhil,

I have reported this issue internally: CRI 88445324. Will post back once I get any updates.

Regards,
Lydia

Moderator
Status changed to: Accepted
 
Frequent Visitor

Excellent, thank you Lydia, look forward to resolution!

Moderator

@TickboxPhil,

I got response from PG:

"This is by design. Unchecking the sync box just means that any future selections won't be synced."

Regards,
Lydia

Frequent Visitor

Your "by design" is bad design - as described clearly by the users on the links provided, not just myself.

 

When unchecking the sync box, as well as removing the slicer, it should remove it's filters otherwise any visualisation is stuck and permantently corrupt.

 

But never mind, thought we could help your QA - never mind, as long as your dev team are happy :-) 

Moderator

@TickboxPhil,

Currectly, you can only manually clear the selection of manually delete the slicers. You can submit a feature request in Power BI ideas forum.

Regards,

Lydia

Frequent Visitor

When clearing a synced slicer, it should also remove it's filters from visualisations. Fact. But if your team still consider this as a feature request not a bug, no problem (but won't be wasting my time doing that), we all have more important things to do.