Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Report saving error and PBIX file automatically deleted from file folder

I have been using the same report file for several months in PBI Desktop. Every day I typically make edits, save to my company shared drive folder (F drive), and publish to the web. Yesterday I started experiencing an issue where I attempt to save changes and PBI prompts me with an error that it cannot save the PBIX file because access to the folder is denied or it has been moved, deleted, etc.

The first time this happened, I exited out of the file (without saving my changes) and attempted to re-open the file from where it is located. When I clicked on the file, a popup from PBI said access denied. Then the file was AUTOMATICALLY DELETED from the file folder. I didnt' press delete. HOW AND WHY is this happening? This is absolutely unacceptable. I don't understand how PBI can delete files like that.

This has happened to me multiple times now. I have successfully saved my report and published for several hours and then all of the sudden I get an error message when attempting to save and the last amount of work is lost. The most recent time, it wouldn't let me save to my F drive so I saved as to my desktop (which worked). I then restarted my computer and attempted to copy the file from my desktop over to the F drive, however it stalls on 82% copied and then gives me an error message "Network Error: There is a problem accessing [the folder path]. Make sure you are connected to the network and try again."

I am fully connected to the network and able to access the file folder in order to copy/paste to iit in the first place. Network connection is not an issue.