cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Managed Permissions Not Retained After App Update

I have been using the manage permissions feature on datasets to restrict access to certain reports in my apps. However, every time I update an app the permissions reset.

 

Obviously that will quickly become impossible to manage with lots of datasets, reports, and users.

 

When an app updates, permissions should not reset.

 

 

(From later comment)

On a dataset I will select two users and choose remove access and click the two reports associated with that dataset. Their names will drop off the list and they won't have access to those reports.

 

After I update the app later, their names will reappear in the dataset permissions with access.

 

Those two people now have access to the reports again. I have to remove access again. 

Status: Needs Info
Comments
Community Support Team

Hi @PaulLacki,

 

What permissions did you set? I tested and thought some behaviours could be by design. Such as resharing the report.

 

Best Regards,

Dale

Established Member
Status changed to: Needs Info
 
Visitor

On a dataset I will select two users and choose remove access and click the two reports associated with that dataset. Their names will drop off the list and they won't have access to those reports.

 

After I update the app later, their names will reappear in the dataset permissions with access.

 

Those two people now have access to the reports again. I have to remove access again. 

Frequent Visitor

Hi @PaulLacki@Vicky_Song@v-jiascu-msft

 

I have the same issue.  Just stumbled across this facility and thought it would be perfect to manage access to our more sensitive data. 

 

In testing I change the permission for an individual to 'Remove Access' in a certain dataset.  I also tick the box to remove the tester also from the report, but leave access to Dashboard.

 

I expect to see a blocked tile on the Dashboard as described in this documentation (under Trouble Shooting)

 

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/service-share-dashboards

 

However - I update the app and get my tester to view and they have full access still.  I check again in the Manage Permissions and see the tester has returned to the list with Read and Reshare access.

 

 This is potentially a really great solution for us as we have a long circuit to creation of shared App workspaces - looking forward to a resolution Smiley Happy

Regular Visitor
Hello, I am also facing the same issue. Did you find the solution for this?
Visitor

I'm also running into the same issue. Was this ever resolved?