Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Case expressions may only be nested to level 10.

Hi There and happy new year,

I've been running a report since 03-2017 with an "added conditional Column".It has 16 rows of conditions.

2018-01-08 09_52_25-.png

After applying the Dec 2017 update, I'm now receiving the following error and there isnt much I can find when trying to google the error except SQL referrences on correcting the syntax structure of nested case expressions in SQL. 

2018-01-08 09_56_09-MS ManagerV3_Inventory - Query Editor.png

I'm not sure how to fix this from myside. Our department relies on the report hourly. 

As I've mentioned its been working for 9 months and suddenly an error.

Hope its a easy fix?

Kind regards

Rayno

Comments
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi there,

Same problem here. I downgraded to november's update, it worked just fine.

Probably something changed or is wrong in december version.

Waiting for solution in current version.

Thanks

raynok
Frequent Visitor

@Anonymous Thank you for your response.

Please would you share your November version, I didnt keep mine. There is no option that I could see on power bi's website to download previous versions.

Thank you in advance.

PS. Once you saved and published again using the Noverver release, did the cloud service refresh schedule work without errors. Wondering if the Novermber release is only going to fix the ablilty to do manual uploads. Will have to test.

simontaylor
Employee

You can find previous versions of Power BI here: https://zenatti.net/2017/07/04/power-bi-previous-versions/

simontaylor
Employee

But any one knows how to fix the issue here?

simontaylor
Employee

I upgraded to the latest version again and saw the error again:

DataSource.Error: Microsoft SQL: Case expressions may only be nested to level 10.