Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

BUG Assume Referential Integrity

Yes, I read the article on going to the support site and submitting a bug report.  I'm not a Pro user, so I don't get free support and I'm not about to charge my credit card to determine this is a bug and then have the charge refunded.

The Assume Referential Integrity option in the model does not work.  I have 2 tables OrderHeader and Payment.  They have a foreign key defined as OrderHeader.OrderID = Payment.OrderID.  This foreign key is active and enforcing the relationship, so it is impossible to have a value in Payment.OrderID that does not exist in the OrderHeader table.  However, when I select Assume Referential Integrity, I get an error back that there are rows in the Payment table that do not exist in the OrderHeader table.  This is false.

The code that is being used is invalid to perform this type of check.  It ran the following 3 queries:

SELECT

COUNT_BIG(*)

AS [a0]

FROM

(

(select [OrderID] as [OrderID],

--additional columns deleted

from [dbo.][OrderHeader] as [$Table])

)

AS [t1]

SELECT

COUNT_BIG(DISTINCT [t12].[OrderID])

AS [a0]

FROM

(

(select [PaymentID] as [PaymentID],

[OrderID] as [OrderID],

--additional columns deleted

from [dbo].[Payment] as [$Table])

)

AS [t12]

SELECT

COUNT_BIG(*)

AS [a0]

FROM

(

(select [OrderID] as [OrderID],

--additional rows deleted

from [OnlineSales].[OrderHeader] as [$Table])

)

AS [t1]