Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Lunkan

Dynamics CRM Online database to big

Hi.

Im a beginner with power BI, and want to connect our MS crm online to PowerBi.

Our databes in MS CRM is to big and we have reached the limit. I can conenct both to PowerBI Desktop and Online but online i cant read in data and use the standard dashboards.

Is there any way to just read in data for example the last 12 month or so? Or to skip reading some of the tables in CRM.

Can this changes be done to the standard MS CRM plugin to PowerBI?

Regards Marcus

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

You can check out this article I wrote:

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/building-ultimate-microsoft-crm-dashboard-under-hour-greg-deckler?trk...

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

@Lunkan I'm going to assume your are talking about the Dynamics CRM Content Pack. And I can only say that I feel your pain. We also apparently have a larger CRM online DB, and I have found no way to connect or make use of the Content pack, which is a bummer given the default dashboards would be useful to look at and use as a starting point.

I've only been able to connect via the desktop after removing the default relationship search in the options and choosing what I want and hooking things up again in the desktop... We've reached out to MS, but there doesn't seem to be any answer other than our backend is too large and the process times out.