Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jadams0304
Frequent Visitor

Connecting to a Plex Database from Power Pivot in MS Excel

Hello,

Connecting to Plex or even using the tables is completely new to me.  I'm a SQL novice, but pick up on things quickly. 

I'm trying to connect Power Pivot in MS Excel to Plex like I have been able to do for MS Access databases.  However, I'm receiving the error below:

powerbi1.png

PlexConnectionError.PNG

I'm able to actually connect to Plex, because you can see above that I'm pulling in what looks like 6,397 tables.  The problem is that I'm not getting any columns.  There should be a preview of the table where the error message is showing.  Below is the Advanced Editor statement and what I see in the Query editor:

powerbi2.png

PlexConnectionError2.PNG

Any help would be greatly appreciated even if it is just assumptions or guesses that might lead me in the correct direction.

My understanding is that nobody else is using MS PowerPivot or MS PowerQuery to connect to Plex.

Thanks,

James

9 REPLIES 9
v-huizhn-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @jadams0304,

I can't open your pictures, so I don't see the error message. You import the data from Plex Database from Other Sources, and connect to Plex Database, right?

1.PNG

PowerPivot for Excel can import data from a wide variety of sources. This article explains the kinds of data sources you can use. Please check it, the error maybe caused by your unsupported database.

Best Regards,
Angelia

Thanks for your reply Angelia.  I'm using the ODBC connection option.  I downloaded the ODBC driver from Plex our ERP provider.  I'm using their 64-bit driver, because I have 64-bit Windows and 64-bit MS Office.  Below are the pictures:

PlexConnectionError1.PNGPlexConnectionError2.PNG

Hi @jadams0304,