Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Changing data connection from ODBC to SQL

Hi everyone, forgive me I'm but a novice here haha. 

I have a client that wants to switch the data connection they currently have in PBI from ODBC to SQL. What is involved with this? are there any risks in doing so?

Cheers,
Ben

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

The last line should just be :

#"Filtered Rows1"

Also, for some reason you changed the names of some of your steps but are still referring to the old steps.

Old

Source = Odbc.DataSource("dsn=Dataext", [HierarchicalNavigation=true]),
data1234_Database = Source{[Name="data1234",Kind="Database"]}[Data],
dbo_Schema = data1234_Database{[Name="dbo",Kind="Schema"]}[Data],
ttfacr200140_Table = dbo_Schema{[Name="ttfacr200140",Kind="Table"]}[Data],
#"Renamed Columns" = Table.RenameColumns(ttfacr200140_Table,{{"t_ttyp", "Document Type"}, {"t_ninv", "Document Number"}, {"t_itbp", "Invoice to BP"}, {"t_docd", "Document Date"}}),

New

Source = Sql.Databases("177.101.5.67\Dataext"),
data1234 = Source{[Name="data1234"]}[Data],
dbo_ttfacr200140 = data1234{[Schema="dbo",Item="ttfacr200140"]}[Data],
#"Renamed Columns" = Table.RenameColumns(ttfacr200140_Table,{{"t_ttyp", "Document Type"}, {"t_ninv", "Document Number"}, {"t_itbp", "Invoice to BP"}, {"t_docd", "Document Date"}}),

I'm not sure why you changed your query up like that but you are referring to steps that do not exist in your query and that's going to cause problems. The idea was to swap out the Source line and the Source line only.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)