Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

karenlp97
Regular Visitor

CRM Service Reporting - Best Practices?

Hi all,

I am new to CRM, but less new to report-building and Power BI. Our team uses CRM Online as a Incident Ticketing exclusively (no sales or opportunities). I am tasked with reporting out certain metrics to the team.

Since I am more comfortable in PowerPivot land (for now), I am working in Excel and using Power Query to connect to the CRM Odata feed and pulling in the IncidentSet, EmailSet, and QueueItemSet tables.

I have to say, this has been a really frustrating experience - I find myself spending literally hours expanding tables and records and digging around to find what I think should be surfaced top-level (e.g. Categories and SubCategories, Case Status Reason). And then when I'm done, usually my Power Query is 10-levels deep in steps and it takes for-EVER for the data to refresh.

I am getting desperate for some SME help on how to report this stuff out. I have looked and looked but cannot find a definitive guide to using Power BI to report on Service Cases.

Specifically I am scratching my head trying to figure out:

• Total time from when a case is created to marked as resolved
  • Where are my case statuses? (Status Reason in CRM)
  • Is there a specifc place I should be looking for case categories? We have a 3-level deep subject tree in CRM and I can only find one Category level in the Odata mess.

Thanks much in advance. I am completely open to a better way of doing this.

Karen

4 REPLIES 4
liasa