Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

alexeisenhart
Resolver I
Resolver I

Moving Power BI Analysis into SSIS or SSAS?

Hello! I hope my question isn't too off topic.

I've been working with Power BI for a few months to build reports and it's helped me gain traction regarding our need for a more robust data warehouse and BI solution. I'm reading The Data Warehouse Toolkit (Kimball) and I'm looking into SSIS and SSAS, but the problem that I have now is that I have a number of DAX statements that produce very useful calculated columns in Power BI and I'm not sure how to migrate them into an ETL solution to "bake" the results into a data warehouse.

For example, I have a fact table that contains a record for each time a specific robot moves a box. Sometimes this robot moves two boxes -- this represents two records. I have added calculated columns in Power BI to determine properties such as

• If the robot moved two boxes, were they the same item? Did they go to the same destination? (complication: inspecting the same dataset)
  • If the box is part of an order, is this the first time the box has been moved since the order was released? (complication: inspecting multiple other datasets)
  • Did this box come straight from production, from area X or was it a return? (complication: inspecting multiple other datasets)

And so on. This fact table has become very wide (which probably indicates that the dataset is potentially not designed well; hoping the book will help me flush that out), but putting that aside, I have complex DAX statements that would be difficult to reproduce in queries to the operational database.