Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Bluefrog
Advocate I
Advocate I

pbiviz start error "Failed to generate visualPlugin.ts"

I am learning about powerbi. I am doing fine until I have to create the custom visuals. I did according to the instruction. However, when I run the command pbiviz start, I received the following error.

ErrorError

I just started learning powerbi a week ago and I have no idea how to solve it. And I tried to apply the solutions I have found online but all of them couldn't solve my issue. It's been three days that I am stuck here. Can someone help me?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
dm-p
Super User
Super User

Hi @Bluefrog,

From looking at your error message, it looks like it might be related to this issue with Webpack.

If you're running v17 of nodejs, it may be worth downgrading to the current LTS version (16) and trying again, or waiting for this issue to be resolved and a newer version of powerbi-visuals-tools with an updated webpack, once that issue has been resolved.

If you're on a recent version of nodejs (but not 17), then I would suggest creating an issue in the powerbi-visuals-tools repository for the team to investigate, as what you're experiencing is definitely not a common issue.

Regards,

Daniel

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

My course: Introduction to Developing Power BI Visuals

On how to ask a technical question, if you really want an answer (courtesy of SQLBI)

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
dm-p
Super User
Super User

Hi @Bluefrog,

From looking at your error message, it looks like it might be related to this issue with Webpack.