Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

mroot
Frequent Visitor

.api folder not being created

Hey Everyone,

I am new to custom visual development.  Trying to create a new visual but noticed that the .api folder is not being created when making a new visual aka- pbiviz new myVisual.  All the tutorials include show the api folder part of the directory. What am I missing?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
dm-p
Super User
Super User

The latest verson of the SDK (3.x) doesn't use the .api folder; the API has been separated from the SDK and is imported as a npm module. It's probably already installed if you have created a new project. If you see powerbi-visuals-api in your list of modules in package.json then the API is there.

if not, you can install by running the following in the root folder of your project:

npm i powerbi-visuals-api

MS are very behind in updating the documentation for the latest version of the tools 😞

Hope this sorts you out,

Daniel

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

My course: Introduction to Developing Power BI Visuals

On how to ask a technical question, if you really want an answer (courtesy of SQLBI)

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
dm-p
Super User
Super User

The latest verson of the SDK (3.x) doesn't use the .api folder; the API has been separated from the SDK and is imported as a npm module. It's probably already installed if you have created a new project. If you see powerbi-visuals-api in your list of modules in package.json then the API is there.

if not, you can install by running the following in the root folder of your project:

npm i powerbi-visuals-api

MS are very behind in updating the documentation for the latest version of the tools 😞

Hope this sorts you out,

Daniel