Reply
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎06-07-2016

Re: Where are the "see records" columns setup?

The "see records" function works for me for reports, but after I pin the report to a Dashboard, it doesn't work on the Dashboard, even though the "see records" option is displayed on a right-click of a column of data.  Has anyone else seen this behavior?

Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-29-2016

Re: Where are the "see records" columns setup?

Hi everybody,

      I have the same issue.  I want to add columns and change the order of the columns, all of which I can do when I am looking at the records, but they are gone when i drill back in.

Regular Visitor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-09-2016

Re: Where are the "see records" columns setup?

Hi there,

 

I have the same issue. I need to display certain columns in see records for the records to be meaningful to those I produce the reports for and right now everytime I change the columns to display in See Records, it does not save my selection and reverts to the default columns after exiting the See Records.

 

Is there no fix for this? It's just useless this way.

Regular Visitor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-09-2016

Re: Where are the "see records" columns setup?

I need the See Records to display specific columns to be meaningful to the stakeholders I create the reports for. Currently the PowerBI seems to select random columns and after I edit the See Records view, the columns revert to their default random selection each time I exit the See Records view. It's just useless. Can this be addressed?

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

Re: Where are the "see records" columns setup?

I'm with all the others on this one. 

 

I use this function alot now thats its been added. And i'm sure that they will update it so that we can customise what records are shown.

 

But i need to set them differently for each page or set of data not just a one for all all for one drill down.

 

 

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

Re: Where are the "see records" columns setup?

I'm with all the others on this one. 

 

I use this function alot now thats its been added. And i'm sure that they will update it so that we can customise what records are shown.

 

But i need to set them differently for each page or set of data not just a one for all all for one drill down.

 

 

Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

Re: Where are the "see records" columns setup?

I'm in the same boat. The workaround is tedious at best. I can't add/remove/reoder the columns so the details are meaningful for my users and stakeholders when text fields are the only ones showing up.  Some of the fields I need to show them are tied via relationships as well so even if they can select their own fields...they won't understand the data relationships and won't know what to select. That's really beside the point, though, because if users see the option "See Records" they will expect that those records will already be meaningful - currently the limited functionality prevents this feature from being very useful, if at all, for users/stakeholders.

Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-16-2016

Re: Where are the "see records" columns setup?

[ Edited ]

Has there been an update that solves this yet?

 

Workaround: For visuals that support the "Tooltips" section, you can add any field you want to tooltips and it will show in the "show records" table.

Member
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎01-29-2016

Re: Where are the "see records" columns setup?

Hi there

I'm with all the others on this one. 

 

FYI: Mod Lydia Zhang wrote back yesterday on my post that "This issue of that how “See Records” works has been reported internally, once we get any updates , we will post back." - So MS heared us!

 

Regards, Patrick

 

 

pls Visitor
Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2016

Re: Where are the "see records" columns setup?

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

I have this issue too.  

 

Plus in my example it is selecting a calculated column and applying Date Hierarchy to it, but because it's not a date (it's just a text description of a financial year - its data type is text), this means it can't show the visual.  When I change the setting for that column in Values in the Visualizations pane (from Date Hierarchy to just showing me the contents of the calculated column), the records show (albeit in an order I'd like to be able to edit), but next time I go back in, Date Hierarchy is applied by default again, and it can't show the records again until I change it back.

 

Frustrating, and rendering Power BI less useful than the once-a-month Excel reports users currently get from me.

 

Paul