Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

sherylmeg
Frequent Visitor

Unable to create Power BI Embedded Service

My setup: I am a dev who has Owner rights on my company's Azure account. I have a Power BI Pro trial license and would like to set up an app owns data site using Power BI Embedded.

When I try to create the Power BI Embedded service in Azure I'm getting an error:

You are currently signed into the 'XXXXXX (default directory)' directory which is not recognized by Power BI. To be able to create Power BI Embedded resource, you can sign up for Power BI. After that, you will need to close this blade to continue. Or, you can switch to a directory that is recognized by Power BI.

Below the error message are two links:

Sign-up to Power BI for free - clicking this link takes me to my signed-in Power BI account

Switch directories - none of the other directories have an Azure subscription

Does the actual owner of the subscription need a Power BI Pro license? I am in the directory and I have a Pro license, so why am I not able to create the service?

8 REPLIES 8
TedPattison
Employee
Employee

If you create a new Azure AD tenant, the Power BI service instance within that tenant does not get initialized automatically. I think you need at least one user to login to that tenant and navigate to the Power BI service at https://app.powerbi.com so that Power BI can intialize it within that Azure AD tenant.

Once the first user logs in, that initializes the Power BI service instance within that tenant and after that you should be able to create instances of Power BI embedded service.
sherylmeg
Frequent Visitor

Me again. 🙂

I got some info from my support request. While running a Fiddler trace, I navigated to the Azure screen to create an Embedded service and got the usual error message: