Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

MarkCBB
Helper V
Helper V

Refresh Report Content using API

Hi there,

I am brand new to using the API, I also have a limited understanding about API's in general.

I have created a simple VBA (Excel) code that pushes data into a streaming dataset using the API.

I have now created a simple Report that is linked to that dataset. 

All the above works fine. I would like like to trigger a refresh of the content on the Report page instead of clicking the button "Refresh", is this possible? 

I have tried the following:

Function RefreshPowerBIReportPage()
Dim objHTTP As Object
Dim JsonDt As String
Dim sReportKey As String
Dim sGroupKey As String

sReportKey = ""
sGroupKey = ""

Set objHTTP = CreateObject("WinHttp.WinHttpRequest.5.1")

URL = "https://api.powerbi.com/beta/myorg/groups/" & sGroupKey & "/reports/" & sReportKey & "/UpdateReportContent"

objHTTP.Open "POST", URL, False
objHTTP.setRequestHeader "User-Agent", "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0)"
objHTTP.setRequestHeader "Content-type", "application/x-www-form-urlencoded"
objHTTP.send

End Function
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @MarkCBB,

It should be a dashboard that shows these results in your scenario. Because that's what the dashboard does. I would suggest you vote up this idea. There is a rough workaround. Refresh the whole browser tab in a fixed interval. 

Best Regards,

Dale

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-jiascu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @MarkCBB,