Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

REST API call to get datasource used in Power BI Report

Hi!

I'm new to Power BI and have a question regarding REST API:

I was able to connect to a postgreSQL database server via ODBC driver and created a report with the help of Power BI Desktop. Then I published the report. Now I would like to find out via an API call, what database, schema, table (even columns?) were used in this report.

So something like

GET https://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/myorg/reports/879445d6-3a9e-4a74-b5ae-7c0ddabf0f11/pages/Sheet1/metadata

which I would expect to return eg. (obviously in JSON 😉)

databaseintl_customer
schemaUS
tablecustomer
columncity
columnstate
columncreditline

Is there a way to get this information?

@SpartaBI
@lbendlin 
@dm-p 

6 REPLIES 6
lbendlin
Super User
Super User

You are mixing up a couple of concepts here.  Databases and schemas are used in datasets, not in reports.

Anyway, here is the official API documentation Reports - REST API (Power BI Power BI REST APIs) | Microsoft Docs

Feel free to request additions for features that you think are useful. If this is important to you please consider raising it at https://ideas.powerbi.com

Failiarize yourself with XMLA endpoint tools like Tabular editor, DAX Studio, Bravo, Power BI Helper, ALM Toolkit etc. They go more into the details of metadata.

The "what is used"  question is very multifaceted.  You need to be more specific on what you want to achieve. Reduce cost? Improve Performance? Improve maintenance?  Depending on your focus the question "what is used" may or may not be relevant at all.

Anonymous
Not applicable

@lbendlinThank you so much for your answer!

Sorry, if I wasn't precise enough. Still a greenhorn, but let me clarify: