Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

LegendaryTokash
Frequent Visitor

Python formatting for streaming dataset -formatting question

Alright, so I am not a developer by trade, but a windows infrastructure admin.  I dabble in electronics and automation, and have been doing odd experiments with Rpi and Arduino components for a couple of years now.   Only recently have I explored taking the realtime data I can collect and bundling it together for a practical purpose - and am exploring PowerBI as a method to visualize.

Long story short, I have a Rpi pulling data from an Arduino, temp, humidity, voltage and current information.  I'm following this guide on how to get started, and I am failing to understand the python formatting being done.  

https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/using-power-bi-real-time-dashboards-to-display-iot-sensor-d...  -- the only difference is i am not rewiring existing projects to read directly from the Pi, but using existing Python via Serial, to get my values.

Without taking a large number of hours to formally learn python, I have a moderate understanding of its syntax and controls, but I am struggling to understand and adapt this line:

# data that we're sending to Power BI REST API
data = '[{{ "timestamp": "{0}", "temperature": "{1:0.1f}", "humidity": "{2:0.1f}" }}]'.format(now, temp, humidity)