Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

PowerBI, Conditional Formatting for Stacked Column Chart

I'm a geologist and trying to create a "Stratigraphic Column" to visualize the progress of Drilling Rig and I realized that Stacked Column Chart is suitable for that visualization.

Everything is perfect except colors. Each lithology has their own color but PowerBI assign random colros to them. There is no any "Conditional Formatting" button in chart properties. That project is very critical for me, is there any code for that or is there any other tool to create something like Stratigraphic Column in PowerBI?

Thats what I want to create similar;

https://i.stack.imgur.com/5hkNI.png 

This is my final progress in PowerBI;

https://i.stack.imgur.com/hHXWw.jpg 

This is databse where I get data for chart;

https://i.stack.imgur.com/Qz5gG.jpg 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-rzhou-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous 

Power BI will divide your values in different groups by legend and show different colors by gourps.

So if you add From column in Legend, power bi will divide To column by From column and show different colors. 

If you want to show different colors by lithology groups, you can add lithology column into legend instead of From column. Then Power BI will show diffrent colors by lithology groups.

1.png

Best Regards,

Rico Zhou

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly. 

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
v-rzhou-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous 

Power BI will divide your values in different groups by legend and show different colors by gourps.