Reply
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-23-2019

PowerBI Apps REST API returns "Certain required feature switch is disabled" error

I'm obtaining token via https://login.windows.net/common/oauth2/token, and it has App.Read.All scope (resource is set to https://analysis.windows.net/powerbi/api). It works just fine with reports and dashboards API. But with apps - https://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/myorg/apps - it returns an error:

{
"error": {
"code": "InvalidRequest",
"message": "Certain required feature switch is disabled"
}
}

I've tried to use web client token (window.powerBIAccessToken), but it returns the same result. My app registration have and consented all permissions. PowerBI Pro trial has ended, but I'm not sure it is required for this API. Any ideas how to resolve this problem?

Community Support Team
Posts: 7,669
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: PowerBI Apps REST API returns "Certain required feature switch is disabled" error

Hi @Alcz,

 

I'm going to consult the Product Team. I will post the result here. Thank for your patience. 

 

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Community Support Team
Posts: 7,669
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: PowerBI Apps REST API returns "Certain required feature switch is disabled" error

Hi @Alcz,

 

The issue is gone now. It seems a little delay happens in the deployment. Please try it out.

 

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-23-2019

Re: PowerBI Apps REST API returns "Certain required feature switch is disabled" error

It seems to be working, but not in all applications. Is there any permission other than App.Read.All required for this api to work?

Community Support Team
Posts: 7,669
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: PowerBI Apps REST API returns "Certain required feature switch is disabled" error

Hi @Alcz,

 

Did you get any error messages? 

Since it works, is it possible that the token is expired?

 

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Community Support Team
Posts: 7,669
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: PowerBI Apps REST API returns "Certain required feature switch is disabled" error

Hi @Alcz,

 

Could you please mark the proper answers as solutions?

 

 

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-23-2019

Re: PowerBI Apps REST API returns "Certain required feature switch is disabled" error

No, I don't see any error message, and the token is valid. The problem is - now after latest api changes were rolled out to production, I get successful response, but it does not contain all apps.

This raises question - what is an "app" that this api returns? 

Community Support Team
Posts: 7,669
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: PowerBI Apps REST API returns "Certain required feature switch is disabled" error

Hi @Alcz,

 

It is the Apps that are installed. Please refer to the snapshot below and check out the result.

Power-BI-Apps-REST-API-returns-Certain-required-feature-switch-is-disabled-error

 

 

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-23-2019

Re: PowerBI Apps REST API returns "Certain required feature switch is disabled" error

Some standard apps like JIRA, GitHub and ClickDimensions are not returned by api although they are listed on "Apps" page.

Community Support Team
Posts: 7,669
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: PowerBI Apps REST API returns "Certain required feature switch is disabled" error

Hi @Alcz,

 

It's true. I have consulted the Product Team and will update here later.

 

 

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.