Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Power BI Visual Custom is not updating frequently enough

Hi Folks

I am new to the whole developing part. My problem is, that my visual is not updating frequently. This means that if I add new values to it, I must refresh the whole visual to be able to see it. 

I am working with Typescript and D3.

Is this a normal behavior or does a function exist where I can change the refresh rate of the update, so that it will constantly check the values etc.

Thanks in advance for your help

Hekuran

5 REPLIES 5
dm-p
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous,

Providing that you have added data to your visual, the update method will run any time you add or remove data, change a property or interact with other visuals in your page (unless you have explicitly disabled interactions with it).

This diagram explains the possible events that can occur during a customs visual's lifecycle.

If the method is not firing as expected for these circumstances then it is possible that your code is not processing your visual's dataView correctly. For us to be able to assist further, please provide further details of what you are trying to do and any supporting code and this should help us try and explore the root cause of your current challenge.

Regards,

Daniel

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

My course: Introduction to Developing Power BI Visuals

On how to ask a technical question, if you really want an answer (courtesy of SQLBI)

Anonymous
Not applicable

@dm-p Thank you for your answer!

In total I have 4 values.

1) the x-Axis would be years (which in the capabilities.json is registred as Grouping)

2) The actual Values of each year (which is registred as Measure)