Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The ultimate Microsoft Fabric, Power BI, Azure AI & SQL learning event! Join us in Las Vegas from March 26-28, 2024. Use code MSCUST for a $100 discount. Register Now

reddy6400
Frequent Visitor

Power BI Dynamic Row Level Security Suggestion

Hi All,

I am new to this tool.We recently migrated to Power BI from 3rd party tool.We are trying to implement ROW Level Security for our scenario.We are getting Users(Total 9500 Users) Info from Azure AD. We have stores across all states in USA.We have to implement ROW Level security based on Store ID & Login Email ID.

Below 2 scenario's has to be implemented.

1)When  user login to Power BI, Store table supposed to display data only for his/her store ID.

2)When any Manager logins, It is supposed to display all storeID's.

Our table Structures:

Table1:Store:-

Store ID    Store Name Storestate

100              ABC               IL

101              DEF                NY

102              GHI                NJ

Table2: RLS_Mapping

Store ID     EMAIL

100            user1@live.com

101            user2@live.com

103             user3@live.com

Appreciated your help.

Thanks,

Raj

9 REPLIES 9
lbendlin
Super User
Super User

You're nearly there. 

- Create a relationship from your RLS_mapping table to the Store table based on Store ID.  This will be created as Many-to-Many (which is ok)  and with bidirectional filter (which is not).  Change the filter direction to single, from RLS_Mapping to Store

- In the RLS_mapping table create a rule that says EMAIL=USERPRINCIPALNAME()

That's it.  Now you can decide if you want to list the manager multiple times in the RLS_Mapping table (with all stores)  or if you want to have a separate table that lists all manager emails and do a different rule there etc.

Lbendlin,

Appreciated your quick response.Instead of Joining both the tables,Can we Implemneted RLS secuiry like below in Power BI??