Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

NTAJM

Parsing bookmarks as filters for rolling report subscriptions (exports)

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to Power BI so your wisdom and guidance is much appreciated!

I'm working on a feature where we want to allow email subscription to a given report that works on a rolling basis. For example, I want the "Student Results" report, but want to filter for only the 9th Grade, and then I want that sent to me on the first of each month with the last month's results.

Obviously, I can do this using 'Export to File in Group' by using a Filter, and then managing (from my end) that the filter updates with a given timeframe each month. However, what I'm struggling with is how I could potentially use existing bookmarks as filters on a report: since as I understand it, a bookmark is basically like an 'individual filter'. Doing this would avoid a whole other layer of complexity in trying to fetch individual fields by which to filter by, since my client has literally thousands of reports across many different topics and each one has different fields by which one could filter.

The problem right now:
- Trying to subscribe to a bookmark means the date range will never change.

In an ideal usecase of the above example:
1. The user looks at a report about all the student results
2. The user filters for the 9th grade
3. The user saves this as a bookmark

4. The user can then 'subscribe' to that filtered report for each month (whereupon I apply the date filter)

Without this ability, given you can only filter for specific columns/tables within a report, this is how my solution is looking:
1. The user opens the 'subscribe' window
2. The user selects a report