Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Salesman0Gil
Regular Visitor

New to Power BI, and need an assist

I am very new to Power BI, so please excuse my ignorance... 

I have created a report from linked excel data in Power BI desktop. I have then successfully published this data to my Power BI online. 

I have then been successful in creating a link for a SharePoint intergration. 

Everything looks awesome! Problem - Online items do not update from Excel. The Excel sheet is from my OneDrive if it assist. 

I have also tried saving/publishing from Desktop Power BI, which does update. 

Please let me know of any insights into this. 

5 REPLIES 5
v-micsh-msft
Employee
Employee

Which OneDrive you are trying to connect to?

For OneDrive for Business, follow the article below:

Use Onedrive for Business links in Power BI Desktop

Please note:

To use a OneDrive for Business file as a data source in the Power BI service, with Service Refresh enabled for that file, make sure you select OAuth2 as the Authentication method when configuring your refresh settings. Otherwise, you may encounter an error (such as Failed to update data source credentials) when you attempt to connect or to refresh. Selecting OAuth2 as the authentication method remedies that credentials error.

For Personal OneDrive, please follow the steps mentioned by v-yuezhe-msft in the thread below:

Power BI support for OneDrive Personal as data source

For Data refresh, see:

Data refresh in Power BI

Regards,

Michael

Where does one "select OAuth2 as the Authentication method when configuring your refresh settings".  I can't seem to find that setting.  Thanks.

Connect with me in LinkedIn: https://pr.linkedin.com/in/adolfosocorro
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/AdolfoSocorro

Thanks for the information.