Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Need Help Writing Formula with Multiple Parameters

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Power BI and would appreciate some help with a calculation. I have around 12 parameters and have created individual measures for each one. The objective is to create a chart that dispalys an average price of a single field as long as no parameters are filled in. However, when the any of the parameters are filled in I would like for the measure to adjust by calcualting the current price by the parameters that are filled in. I am essentially trying to create one measure that is calcualted using all the parameters and therefore would adjust if/when any parameters are populated. I've tried an IF statement however I am limited on the number of logic test I can record. Can anyone provide some insight how I can write the calculation for this? Any help would greatly appreciated.

-Emmanuel 

1 REPLY 1
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @Anonymous ,

if you want to have a calculation to select between multiple slicers or what-if parameters you can use the SWICH formula. It performs basically the same function as nested if statements

SWITCH(
    <expression>, // the value that each <value> will be evaluated against

<value>, // to be matched against <expression>, if <value> = <expression> then perform <result>. This is practically the same as when an IF statement is true
    <result>, // the result if <value> = <expression>

<value2>, 
    <result2>,

…,

<else>
)

To evaluate if a slicer is selected you can use the ISFILTERED() formula. 

// in an if statement
IF(
   ISFILTERED([column name of the slicer column]),
     <result>, // if the slicer is selected
     <result> // if the slicer is not selected
)
// in a switch
SWITCH(
     TRUE(),