Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

joshpt
Frequent Visitor

Multi tenancy in Powerbi Service

Hi 

I have some experience on Powerbi, working in a single tenant approach. We have a tenant, reports were created on PBI desktop, and deployed to PBI service.

Now we have a challenge and i'm not sure about the best solution. We have created a set of reports to share with some external clients. We have around 10 clients and a set of 30 reports. These numbers should grow, but don't expect to have more that 25/30 clients.

Each client has its own database, but all databases share the same structure. The reports would also be the same across all clients. 

Each client can have between 5 and 20 users.

We don't have any kind of platform where we can "embed" the powerbi reports and  being so our goal is to have our clients accessing directly powerbi service.

Ideally our clients would have a powerbi pro account.

Some of our clients don't have any kind of relation with microsoft and this also needs to be considered.

I've been reeding some stuff but most documents i've found are associated with "Power BI Embedded". 

My main question is, what is the best architecture for this solution ?

Thanks in advance

4 REPLIES 4
joyhackett
Helper II
Helper II

@joshpt

I am trying to come up with an architecture for a very similar (almost exact) scenario. We have 10 reports and 50 customers (each with 5-10 users). Each customer has their own database connection. We, too, want them to access the reports through the Power BI Service so they can have all the functionality without us having to build an embedded application. 

I would really appreciate hearing what you have come up with as a solution!

Thanks!

v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @joshpt,