Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

GJDealogic
Frequent Visitor

Javascript api

HI

I am a web developer new to PowerBI. The team I am in looks after the company CRM which includes financial and analytics data. We are starting to use PowerBI to embed reports in our pages. Across the site we have a common theme with our own filters, dropdowns, customised date pickers etc. We want to keep a consistant look and feel and use these custom filters in conjunction with the embedded report so need to know 

a) If this is possible - I'm assuming it is

b) How to use the javascript api to do this.

Can anyone point me in the direction of some examples and relevant documentation.

Thanks

Gary

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Yes, you can set filters uisng JavaScript and your kendo UI controls. Begin by embedding a report by calling powerbi.embed and holding on to the reference to the report object.

var config = {
  type: 'report',
  id: embedReportId,
  embedUrl: embedUrl,
  accessToken: accessToken,
  tokenType: models.TokenType.Embed
};

// Get a reference to the embedded report HTML element
var embedContainer = document.getElementById('embedContainer');

// Embed the report and display it within the div container.
var report = powerbi.embed(embedContainer, config);

After that, you can set a filter on the embedded report by calling report.setFilters.

let states = ["FL","GA","NC"]

const basicStateFilter = {
  $schema: "http://powerbi.com/product/schema#basic",
  target: {
    table: "Customers",
    column: "State"
  },
  operator: "In",
  values: states
}

// apply filter to report
report.setFilters([basicStateFilter]);

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
v-jiascu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi Gary,

Please refer to the live demo. It would be easy for you with the demo. 

Javascript-api