Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

BH22One
Helper I
Helper I

JSON API Call Script Help

Good Afternoon PBI Community,

I am fairly new to JSON language as it pertains to APIs. Currently, I have an M script in Power Query that returns a binary list as seen below (FYI I have a Bearer Token but have denoted it as "GetAccessToken()" below.)

My goal is to write the script in a way that returns a single value from one of the binary records. Not sure if this can be done but thought I'd throw it out there.

let
Source =Json.Document(Web.Contents("https://US.api.blackline.com/api/queryruns", [Timeout=#duration(0, 0, 30, 0), Headers=[Authorization="Bearer "&GetAccessToken(), ContentType="application/json; charset=utf-8"]]))

in
#"Source"

BH22One_0-1655406669590.png

In this case, the "Record" in row 1 contains the information I need. This information being the most recent report posted to the site I am getting the data from.

The information within the "Record" for Row 1 is as follows:

BH22One_1-1655408577256.png

Additionally I'd only like to return the "id" from this binary data "417197777". 

The data on the web site I'm pulling from updates every hour with a new unique "id" thus I am looking to use my json statement as a function (fx) in Power BI to return this value. I could use Power Query and convert this to a table and filter for the max date and then remove columns, however I am looking to satisfy this requirement solely through my JSON statement and convert it to a function if possible or any other method that doesn't require additional steps in Power Query Editor.

I can provide additional detail as needed. Hoping someone has some guidance relative to this requirement.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Daryl-Lynch-Bzy
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi @BH22One , does the following work:

let
    Source =