Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

fat0527

Integrate PowerBI with AX7

I am a developer of AX, and would like to explore the integration between AX7 and PowerBI.

I saw there was a great update about Query Parameter and File Templates in April: Deep Dive into Query Parameters and Power BI Templates

However, I have some questions since I start learning the integration between AX7 and PowerBI.

1. In AX, most of data are company aware. AX creates a field called DataAreaId in all the tables if they are company specific. When AX user browse the data within AX, user can only see the data within the company context. I tried to connect AX via Odata or View. I found if I use Odata, PowerBI extract all the data from user's default company, which is not ideal, as one user can belong to more than one company, and they would like to swap the company to browse different data. If I extract the data from view, it extract all the data directly from the under layer tables. Seems the Query Parameters update allow user to select different company. However, is there a way to limit the user can and only can see/select the company they belong to? If that is impossible now, is there any plan for that?
  2. When we implement ERP to different customers, some reports could become our standard reports and be shared among customers. The data structure could be the same but just the connection string would be varied. With the file templates function, seems we can extract the report definition without customer data now. However, is there any easy way to configure the connection string? I currently go to indivduial tables/views by using the advance query editor and change it one by one over there.

Thanks in advanced.

Frankie

2 REPLIES 2
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User