Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

nbarta
Frequent Visitor

How to calculate count of IDs per Average Number of Hours bucket

I am very new to PBI and DAX in general so I'm sorry if this is obvious but I would really appreciate any detailed explanations. I have a table with PersonID and Average Number of Hours per Week in a table that looks like this: 

PersonIDAverage Number of Hours per Week

and I would like to make a table/graph to show this data 

Average Number of Hours Per WeekCount of PersonID
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
nbarta
Frequent Visitor

Thanks @dm-p I think I managed to find myself to a solution. I ended up exporting the data from the measure I made which did result in a new table with a 1:1 relationship between ID and average hours worked, each of the values becoming implicit measures I believe. I played around enough to get the chart accurate, although there are a few outliers that proved to be true because of weird, but accurate data. Thanks for taking the time to help me out! This community seems really nice2.PNG

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
dm-p
Super User
Super User

Hi @nbarta,

Welcome to learning Power BI and DAX!

I assume you're getting something like this when you try?

image.png

If so, Power BI is treating your Average Number of Hours per Week field as an implicit measure, because it's numeric.

You don't want to change this behaviour, as this is a good candidate for other calculations, but you can change this for the visual that you want to group it in.

In the fields list, click on the caret (down arrow) next to Average Number of Hours per Week and select Don't summarize, e.g.:

image.png

This will tell the visual to group by the unique values rather than aggregate them, and this should give you what you need, e.g.:

image.png