Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

cte_crest
Helper I
Helper I

How should I deal with large dataset in PowerBI for json data?

Hi guys, 

I am new to PowerBI. However, in the last month, I have done extensive research on PowerBI. I wanted some suggestions on how to implement a use case.

I have a large flow of JSON data which can be fetched from the rest API, which is about 2.5 Million records per day. I am trying to solve it using various ways:

1. Using the PowerBI push APIs: But, there is a cap of a maximum of 5 Million records per table for data pushed through APIs.
  2. Using Native Connector: But, custom rest APIs doesn't support incremental refresh. So, every time I refresh, I would have to fetch all of those records again, which would be very inefficient. Also, I think the desktop allows max data of 1 GB.

So, the above approaches which I found promising won't work. So, is there a way that I am unaware of to fulfil such use case? 

Basically, I want to fetch a large amount of JSON data through API and store it in PowerBI dataset.  

Also, is there any alternative way such that I can push my JSON data to intermediate storage, and fetch from there in PowerBI?

I am stuck at this point, and any help would be highly appreciated.

3 REPLIES 3
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

HI @cte_crest,

AFAIK, power bi desktop report file does not have a limitation on data amount, this size limit should more relate to your hard disk storage and system memory. (system memory used to processing and calculation DAX formulas in your report)
Current power bi service has one Gb dataset size limit on publishing report, it can be increased if you upgrade premium license above some level.

What is Power BI Premium?#size-considerations 

Large models in Power BI Premium (preview)