Reply
Member
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎01-15-2018

Re: Get token of report

@v-jiascu-msft

 

Thanks, it was an issue. 

 

Regards,

Yerkhan

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-19-2018

Re: Get token of report

Greetings,

first of all, thanks for the detailed instructions @v-jiascu-msft. But I am still struggling to get this to work in Postman. I followed each of your described steps, but only get the following error message in return:

{
    "error": "invalid_grant",
    "error_description": "AADSTS70002: Error validating credentials. AADSTS50126: Invalid username or password\r\nTrace ID: dba5dbef-834c-4df0-910f-2ad7e6e23600\r\nCorrelation ID: ee8fa976-7366-4056-9523-b5d1c606c78f\r\nTimestamp: 2019-01-09 08:14:06Z",
    "error_codes": [
        70002,
        50126
    ],
    "timestamp": "2019-01-09 08:14:06Z",
    "trace_id": "dba5dbef-834c-4df0-910f-2ad7e6e23600",
    "correlation_id": "ee8fa976-7366-4056-9523-b5d1c606c78f"
}

I of course double checked every key/value, URL and the App Settings in Azure. I also used the PowerBI embed configuration tool to setup the environment in Azure. The generated .net application also generates a token sucessfully (but I need it with a simple post call) so I am sure that the used credentials are working.

Do you maybe have some more ideas what else I can try? Or are there maybe basic configurations in Azure which could prevent a successful post call of Postman?

Thanks!

Community Support Team
Posts: 7,295
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: Get token of report

Hi @NEbdf,

 

Since you can use the password to get token with .net application, that's hard to say what went wrong. Can you share a snapshot of how you did it? Please mask the sensitive parts.

 

Best Regards,
Dale

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-19-2018

Re: Get token of report

Sure. Here is the latest Postman configuration:

postmanPowerBI.jpg

Community Support Team
Posts: 7,295
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: Get token of report

Hi @NEbdf,

 

All seems good. If it's a web app, the client_secret is needed. But the error message shouldn't be this one. 

If I use a wrong password, I got the same error message. I would suggest you check the username and password again though it sounds impossible. Maybe you have multi-tenant?

 

Best Regards,
Dale

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-19-2018

Re: Get token of report

[ Edited ]

 Hi @v-jiascu-msft

the app in Azure is configured as a native app. Seems to be the default when using the PowerBI configurator. Should PowerBI embed also work when its a Web-App/API?

Edit:
Just tested everything with seting up a Web-App/API and delivering the app secret. Same error message as before unfortunately.

Highlighted
Community Support Team
Posts: 7,295
Registered: ‎05-02-2017

Re: Get token of report

Hi @NEbdf,

 

That's too weird. I would suggest you file a support ticket here. I will appreciate it if you can share the cause and the solution. 

create-ATicket

 

Best Regards,
Dale

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.