Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mjs_81
Frequent Visitor

Embedded report with dynamically changing data source

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to Power BI and need a little help with embedding a report with dynamically data source into a web page.

Therefor, I want to use a rest API to get and display daily changing data. I have already managed to get a flexible data source in Power BI Desktop by using query parameters and to embed a static report in the web page.

But the next step needed would be to define the parameters in the code of the web application in which the report should be embedded and pass these parameters by the embedding call.

I've done a lot of research on it, but I just haven't found anything that has helped me.

Does anyone know my problem and perhaps can help me or give tips for another solution?

Thanks a lot!

3 REPLIES 3
TedPattison
Employee
Employee

Yes, you can use parameters in a Power BI Desktop project to allow for dynamically switching a dataset in the Power BI service to point to a different data source. There is also support in the Power BI Service API to automate changing the parameter value so your application can update the value.

But here is the rub. Power BI does not really support updating the data source for a dataset within the context of a single request. Changing the parameter value will not take effect instantly and any change you make will be seen across all users.  It works great if your scenario involves occasionally redirecting a dataset to a different underlying database and then running a refresh operation. It will not work at all if your goal is to have a single dataset where you can redirect the connection to a different underlying database depending on who the user is.

Thank you very much for your reply.