Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Editting an existing Custom Visual

I'm new to creating custom visuals and have looked at a few tutorials.  The main style i saw was making use of PBIViz on the command prompt to make a new folder of resources, editing those and then using PBIViz to package them back up.  That process seems to make fine sense.

I downloaded an existing visual, TimeLine Version 1.3.17, which comes as a .pbiviz file.  I've extracted the contents using 7-Zip into a development folder.  The file structure is a little different to the tutorial but still made sense and there is a package.json as the starting point and a resources folder it points to.  What is curious is that you have both a TypeScript file and a Javascript file making up the code.  Both files, while different lanuages, look to me as having the same modules just in their own respective languages.  There are some other files like .css and image files that seem straight forward.

Problem:
No matter what changes i've made to either the Typescript file or the Javascript file, the custom visual stays exactly the same.  I've found the most easy and simple labels that exist on once in each file, and even just changed those.  No matter what i do, i can't see to have an effect on the custom visual in the slightest.

My process has been:
Extract all files from .pbiviz file using 7-zip.  Alter the .js & .ts files with the same changes.  Put those .js & .ts back into the .pbiviz using 7-Zip.  Open up Power BI Desktop and import custom visual into a project.  Add visual to the report and check. Discover nothing changes and weep a little.

Help???

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous,

I mean to replace 'Timeline1447991079100' with a new value.

Community Support Team _ Sam Zha