Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Editing/Modifying an Existing Custom Visual

Hi,

I am currently new to Power BI Custom Visual development and would like to modify an existing Power BI Visual.

I am currently trying to modify the open source Map Box Custom Visual Source Code and add several minor changes for my report.

After making the necessary changes, I have attempted to use "npm run package" on the root directory of the Custom Visual source code, but I noticed that its file size drops dramatically from 1.2 mb (Original pbiviz file) to 330 kb (Repackaged Pbiviz file).

I've tried running this and the visual comes up blank - The Fields option seems to include the expected fields, but the Format option doesn't contain the expected fields (i.e. only the default options). 

I've also tried repackaging it without any changes and it ends up with the same result (330 kb, not working).

Could someone please explain what I am doing wrong? What approach should I be taking to make it work properly?

I would greatly appreciate any help, thank you in advanced.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hey @Anonymous,

When you say you have only changed the guid, does this include backing-out the minor changes you wanted to make? I'd be inclined to stash those somewhere and confirm the base visual works from checkout before packaging with the changes. The visual host suppresses runtime errors and a blank visual can also be a side-effect of such a runtime error.

Assuming you have and the guid is the only change, then my next steps to investigate would be as follows: