Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

kevinbrad06
Frequent Visitor

Custom Visual with Shared Dataset

I've created a custom visual that filters the dataset based on user provided values. Everything works greats in my main report published to the service.

However, I have several reports that use the same dataset as their source. In those other reports the filters appear to fire (visuals refresh) but no data is filtered out. Has anyone experienced this? I'm a very novice developer but I believe these are the lines that are causing problems.

let target: IFilterColumnTarget = {
table: categories.source.queryName.substr(0, categories.source.queryName.indexOf('.')), // table
column: categories.source.displayName // col1
};
let filter: IBasicFilter = {
$schema: "http://powerbi.com/product/schema#basic",
...(new BasicFilter(
target,
"In",
listItem
))
};

// invoke the filter
this.host.applyJsonFilter(filter, "general", "filter", FilterAction.merge);

Any help would be much appreciated.

**Edited to Add Capabilities.json

{
"dataRoles": [
{
"displayName": "Filter Column",
"name": "values",
"kind": "Grouping"
}
],
"dataViewMappings": [
{
"conditions": [
{
"values": {
"max": 1
}
}
],
"categorical": {
"categories": {
"for": {
"in": "values"
},
"dataReductionAlgorithm": {
"top": {
"count": 100000
}
}
}
}
}
],
"objects": {
"general": {
"displayName": "General",
"properties": {
"filter": {
"displayName": "filter",
"type": {
"filter": true
}
}
}
}
}
}
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thank you for your help. It ended up being an extremely easy solution this was just my first attempt at a custom viz. I was using the displayName to pass in the column to be filtered and of course there are scenarios where the user has changed the display name. I grabbed the column name from the query name instead and it is working great.