Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Code to refresh a dataset where prior refresh failed

Hi everyone,

we have a number of "production" datasets, and these seem to fail to refresh occasionally. Uncertain why - maybe network hiccup, PBI service issue, database being backed up on our side, etc.

Long and short, I'm trying to write a script that will loop through every dataset in our production workspaces, check whether a) the dataset is set up to refresh, and b) if so did the last refresh work properly. Unfortunately I'm not a PowerShell developer (at all...) so I'm hitting some issues.

The main piece of code I have is:

$AllDatasets =
ForEach ($workspace in $Workspaces)
    {
    ForEach ($dataset in (Get-PowerBIDataset -Scope Organization -WorkspaceId $workspace.Id))
        {

# check if dataset is supposed to refresh
        $url = "https://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/myorg/groups/" + $workspace.Id + "/datasets/" + $dataset.ID + "/refreshSchedule"
        $refreshSched = $false
        $refreshSched = (ConvertFrom-Json (Invoke-PowerBIRestMethod -Url $url -Method Get)).enabled

# check status of last refresh
        $url = "https://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/myorg/groups/" + $workspace.Id + "/datasets/" + $dataset.ID + '/refreshes?$top=1'
        #Write-Host $url
        $last_status = "n/a"
        $last_status = (ConvertFrom-Json (Invoke-PowerBIRestMethod -Url $url -Method Get)).value.status

[pscustomobject]@{
            WorkspaceName = $workspace.Name
            WorkspaceID = $workspace.Id
            DatasetName = $dataset.Name
            DatasetID = $dataset.Id
            DatasetAuthor = $dataset.ConfiguredBy
            Refresh = $refreshSched
            LastStatus = $last_status
            }
        }
    }