Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

D_PBI
Post Patron
Post Patron

Clarification on the Power Platform from a Power BI perspective

Hi,

I hope this is the appropiate sub-forum to post this question. I wanted to ask it from a PBI perspective - hence asking it here.

I'm a PBI developer and come from a BI background. I like how PBI can be used in any department/industry and not restricted to I.T. departments or software houses as other technologies often are - more job opportunities as a result.

I'm currently spending some extra time refreshing myself on PBI features and relearning the many DAX functions. Unfortunately, I just don't get to use all in my current role and therefore need continuous refreshers.
It raises the question of "should I focus my energy on PBI?" or "should I settle for my current knowledge of PBI, even if rusty, and look to understand other areas of the Power Platform?".  My aim is job opportunities and security.

I have not used Power Apps or Power Automate (or the newer Virtual Agents) but I have an understanding on what their aims are.
To me, they are not BI tools and therefore, if I wish to continue with BI, is not be something I should focus my energy on. I've seen the example of embedding a Power App interface within a PBI report, entering data into that Power App, and the using Power Automate to push through that data to the source. Although this is impressive it is more software development territory than BI.

For me, I like taking data, regardless of what mess it's in, and turning it into insights. I don't really have an interest in creating Apps to update source applications or creating virtual bots.