Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

laurelning
Helper I
Helper I

why the count is not right

Hello everyone,

I am new to Power Bi and this is a very simple question. While creating a table of counts for each category ( in text) under a column, I don't know why the number of counts is not right based on data. I checked the data table imported to Power BI from excel and it is all correct. But the number of counts is not right. Does anyone know what's going on? 

Thanks.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@laurelning, It is difficult to get the reason from the info.  Try following

1. Remove all filters and check for Count As KPI and in the table of data you created is matching or not. Basically only from one table. If this one matches then

2. The add filter and check which filter is causing that

3. If step one is giving the wrong count, then try import this file(table) into a new file and try to check for the count.

View solution in original post

@laurelning is the filter you have taken in filter pane and one on slicer is from the same column and same table. 

If they are not the same that will open up the option to debug further. 

Not sure if you are using latest version of powerBI, Filter pane is much better in latest version.

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Dear laurelning,

Could you provide more information or screenshoot please ?

So i can help u for your case

Regards,

Chrisyan

@Anonymous  Please see below the screenshot of the two tables generated respectively from Excel and Power BI. Thanks.power bi help.png

Going to need source data to figure out what is going on here, can you replicate the issue with sample data or can you share the source data? Are there multiple source tables involved or just one?